Skip Navigation

Improving Science Assessments

Research Team

  • Dr. Faranak Rohani

    CALA Director and Principal Investigator

  • Dr. Albert Oosterhof

    Assessment Coordinator

  • Dr. Penny Gilmer

    Science Expert

  • Dr. Danielle Sherdan

    Science Expert

  • Dr. Valerie Shute

    Assessment Expert

  • Dr. Yanyun Yang


Graduate Research Assistants

  • Adam LaMee

    Department of Physics

  • Aaron Rouby

    Educational Psychology and Learning Systems

  • Umit Tokac

    Educational Psychology and Learning Systems

  • Lee Walton

    Department of Biological Science

  • Yan Xia

    Educational Psychology and Learning Systems

Participating Schools and Teachers

  • Augusta Raa Middle School, Leon County, Florida

    Colleen Hosford

    Thomas Price

    Principal Giselle Marsh

  • C.W. Ruckel Middle School, Okaloosa County, Florida

    Alan Anderson

    Carol Szklarski

    Principal Paul Whiddon

  • Elizabeth Cobb Middle School, Leon County, Florida

    Jane Dobbs

    Gina Gass

    Principal Tonja Fitzgerald

  • Gulf Breeze Middle School, Santa Rosa County, Florida

    Sherri Barber

    Sherry Gallagher

    Principal Richard Cobb

  • Surfside Middle School, Bay County, Florida

    Glenn Faust

    Linda Yori

    Principal Sue Harrell

External Review Team

  • Dr. Barbara Crawford

    Associate Professor, Science Education

    Cornell University

  • Dr. Thomas Fisher

    Fisher Education Consulting, LLC

State Review Team

  • Dr. Sharon Koon

    Assistant Deputy Commissioner, Office of Assessment

    Florida Department of Education

  • Sally Sanders

    Science Content Specialist, Race to the Top Assessments

    Division of Accountability, Research, and Measurement

    Florida Department of Education

  • Chris Harvey

    FCAT Science Coordinator

    Florida Department of Education Test Development Center

  • Dr. Rachel Hallett-Njuguna

    Secondary Science Specialist, Seminole County, Florida

  • Michelle Walsh

    Principal, Milwee Middle School, Seminole County, Florida

  • Dominic Piscitelli

    Curriculum and Instruction Specialist for STEM

    Division of Learning, Charlotte County Public Schools, Charlotte County, Florida

  • Jason Seickel

    Science Teacher, Howard Middle School, Orange County, Florida

  • Lisa Nall

    Science Teacher, C.W. Ruckel Middle School, Okaloosa County, Florida